Governor Names MaineHousing, Dirigo Health and Maine Retirement System Nominees


AUGUSTA, ME – January 5, 2010 – (RealEstateRama) — Governor John E. Baldacci today announced nominations to the boards of the Maine State Housing Authority (MaineHousing), Dirigo Health and Trustees of the Maine Public Employees Retirement System.


The Governor has nominated for reappointment MaineHousing Director Dale McCormick, as well as Board Members Don Gean and Carol Kontos. The Governor has nominated for new appointments Barbara Berry and Raymond Cota.

Dale McCormick has served five years as Director of MaineHousing. Prior to that, McCormick served eight years as Maine State Treasurer, the first woman to have held this high position in the State. McCormick also served in the State Senate for three terms. She currently resides in Augusta.

“Dale has demonstrated her leadership and commitment to the State. She has helped to ensure that Maine families have access to safe and affordable housing,” said Governor Baldacci. “She has been a critical member of my team involved in making Maine a leader nationally in weatherization: reducing the cost of energy, reducing carbon emissions and growing jobs.”

Don Gean, of Old Orchard Beach, has served as Executive Director of York County Shelter Programs Inc., for 25 years, providing critical support services and housing for homeless people and families. He has been active in numerous local, State and national organizations that are involved with homeless issues.

Carol Kontos has served as Associate Professor of English at the University of Maine at Augusta for 28 years. She served from 1990 to 1998 in the Maine State House of Representatives, where she was elected House Majority Leader (1996 to 1998). She also served 1998 to 2000 in the Maine State Senate. Kontos resides in Windham.

Barbara Berry, of North Yarmouth, has more than 32 years experience in the real estate industry, and is currently employed by Coldwell Banker in Kennebunk.

Raymond Cota Jr. is Vice President for Real Estate at Webber Oil Company, where he has worked for 25 years. He served as Town Manager of Orono for five years (1979 to 1984). Cota is the current President of the Board of the Maine Real Estate & Development Association. He resides in Orono.

Dirigo Health

Frank O’Hara and Gary Reed are being newly appointed to the Dirigo Board. In addition, the Governor has nominated Jonathan Beal, Ed David, Mary McAleney and Maryanne Turowski for reappointment to the Board.

Frank O’Hara is co-owner of Planning Decisions Inc. He has worked in local, regional and State government, including serving as an aide to Governor Brennan for two years, and serving as Director of the Community Assistance Division of the Maine State Planning Office for three years. O’Hara is a resident of Hallowell.

Gary Reed, of Falmouth, is a former State Legislator, having served five terms in the Maine State House of Representatives. Reed, who is retired, worked 35 years at SD Warren and also served as a staff member in Senator Susan Collins’ Portland office.

Jonathan Beal has served as an attorney in private practice for 25 years. He had worked at the National Labor Relations Board in Region One in Boston for 12 years prior to going into private practice. Beal is a resident of Portland.

Ed David, of Holden, serves as Deputy Chief Medical Examiner for the State of Maine and prior to that worked for 31 years at Neurology Associates of Eastern Maine.

Mary McAleney is retired from the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA), where she had served as District Director. Prior to her work at the SBA, McAleney was the Chief of Staff to U.S. Senator George J. Mitchell. McAleney resides in South Portland.

Mary Anne Turowski, of Newburgh, currently serves as the legislative and political director for the Maine State Employees Association. She has worked for the organization since 1993. Turowski worked for 14 years for the State of Maine at the Department of Human Services.

Maine Public Employees Retirement System

The Governor has nominated for reappointment George Burgoyne and Peter Leslie as Trustees to the Maine Public Employees Retirement System.

George Burgoyne, of Bangor, is a retired State employee, having worked at the Department of Health and Human Services from 1971 to 2007.

Peter Leslie is retired after being self-employed. Prior to that, Leslie founded and worked at the investment banking firm Leslie, Wienert & Co. Inc. Leslie is a resident of Waterford.

Nominations must be reviewed by the committee of jurisdiction and confirmed by the Senate.


Maine RealEstateRama is an Internet based Real Estate News and Press Release distributor chanel of RealEstateRama for Maine Real Estate publishing community.

RealEstateRama staff editor manage to selection and verify the real estate news for State of Maine.


Previous articleThe Supreme Court Promulgates Rule 93 For The Foreclosure Diversion Program
Next articleMaine’s Office of Securities Announces Indictment of Former Real Estate Broker